Terry Martin

Nomination Date: 04/07/2019

Terry Martin and his family moved from Grand Falls-Windsor, NL to St. John’s-Mount Pearl 25 years ago and they continue to live in the district he proudly calls home. He now wishes to serve as your member of Parliament.

His move to St. John’s-Mount Pearl was to enable their youngest of two children to attend the Newfoundland School for the Deaf.  Upon arrival to the area, Terry immediately began his unwavering commitment to helping the Deaf and Hard of Hearing communities.  This led him to the Canadian Hard of Hearing Association-Newfoundland and Labrador (CHHA-NL) where he was later hired as Director of Fund Development, a position he still holds today.

Terry is committed to helping others and is tirelessly involved with other community groups and Not for profit organizations. His involvement has included various roles such as volunteer, founding committee member, director, and treasurer with organizations such as the Canadian Hard of Hearing Association, Stella’s Circle Foundation, PTA-Newfoundland School for the Deaf, Avalon Dragons, Easter Seals, Summerville Condominium Corporation, and many others.  He also gives freely of his fundraising knowledge and organizational expertise to mentor and assist other community groups in their efforts. He has also been a member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals since 1995.

Terry graduated from the College of the North Atlantic with a Diploma of Public Administration and attended Memorial University of Newfoundland where he studied Biology and Economics.

His extensive career has enabled him to work with Community Organizations; Municipal, Provincial and Federal Government departments and agencies, as well the Corporate sector. Terry has also held various executive positions in the private sector.

However, it is his steadfast commitment to community and genuine desire to help others that exemplifies what it means to be a concerned and active citizen. Indeed, a community builder. This makes Terry Martin an ideal candidate to become the next Federal MP for the District of St. John’s South-Mount Pearl.